Caron Cakes…..what is all the fuss? Key Lime Wall Hanging.


I succumbed. I bought a Caron Cake of yarn. For those who are not familiar with them, it is yarn presented as centre pull ball of yarn. It is also generally 4 shades or colours that abruptly change, no gradient. 200 gm in the ball. Most knitter/crocheters are using it for hats and scarves. The product is flying off of the store shelves. It is hard to pick which cake to buy.

Key Lime Wall Hanging


I used the Studio/Silver Reed Chunky SK890 knitting machine.

Method

Cast-on, (crochet cast-on) 54-0-54 needles. Dial Tension 3, Slip stitch from the OEM Mylar.( pattern 3 or 4, I don’t rember which one)

The Striping was a pure accident. I started with the centre strand of yarn and knit until the Yellow/lime colour ended. It looked long enough, so I cast off. Turned it on its side and fringed. On the other end, I needed a pocket to contain a dowel to hang it.

Lastly, it needed decor. A length of I-cord was Knit and sewn on bridging the 2 colour changes.

40″ long x 11″ wide. and have yarn left over from 1 Caron Cake.

