To embellish or not……. I did.

Some yarns and stitches, need not anything. The yarn or the stitch says it all. And then there are others. I find myself questioning the need for something to make the garment special. I know this project needs something, but what?
A simple vest knit of Noro Kureyon wool. The colours are dramatic in themselves, but something is missing in my eye.

20140221-164521.jpg

Some hand manipulated lace is better than nothing, but it needs more.
The back view I cord is OK by me for a bit of interest there and serves a purpose.

20140221-164709.jpg

Lastly, I-cord to the rescue, threaded it up the lace holes. One side with and the other side without.

20140221-165313.jpg

I haven’t decided on the final finish. I know there are many who are totally enamored with this yarn, I can’t say that I am among them. It did knit nicely on the Chunky knitting machine and blocked beautifully, but I found the bits of spinning waste, floor sweepings and barn debris not to my liking.

I might mention that I had bought a full sealed bag, and in the process of knitting, I found that 2 of the balls were entirely different colour combination even though they had the same ball band and dye lots. Somebody goofed somewhere!

FINI, the I cord added some weight to the front edges. I now like the vest worn with a coloured T.

20140224-135803.jpg

