Working with Lopi Icelandic yarns

Lately, I’ve been knitting with Lette Lopi, Icelandic yarns. A great yarn for outerwear.

Most patterns that have been published, call for a much tighter gauge than I would choose. This leads me to experimentation. When washed, the the garment feels softer and the yarn takes on a sheen. It loosens up a bit and grows some. The dyed yarns seem softer and more fluid than the ‘naturals’ that have less processing of the fleece.

I will need to experiment further. Over time, I have found that I need to use a couple of lb of any new (to me)yarn to find its potential for my work.

20121215-132743.jpg

Busters new coat. LettLopi. The coat weighs 100 gm.
It was a fun and quick knit. The coat was based on VOF from the LOPI Book 25.
It was knit following the numbers for the size Large, but with a gauge of 16 st/10 cm on a 4.5 mm
Needle.

Buster is an elderly 8.5 lb Papillion dog.

